IT Excuse Generator

Feeds
Add to Google
RSS FEED


December 19, 2005

Bloglines Outage Today...BACKUP YOUR SUBSCRIPTIONS!

If you use Bloglines I strongly recommend you make a backup of your subscriptions RIGHT NOW!!

Bloglines is moving all their servers to a new datacenter and I wouldn't take any chances. I'm sure they're taking every precaution possible to make sure nothing is lost during this move but I can tell you from experience, moving servers to another facility never goes fully as planned. The truck carrying the servers can get into an accident. Their backups could fail. Unfortunately, series of accidents sometimes DO happen.

To backup your RSS subscriptions click on Edit in the MyFeeds frame, then scroll to the bottom, right click on Export Subcriptions, choose Save As..., give it the extension .opml, and save it to a location on your hard drive where you can find it.

If you heavily rely on your RSS Feeds and have lots of subscriptions it doesn't hurt to make additional backups on your end so you're covered as much as you can be.

Bloglines will have a planned outage on Monday, December 19, 2005 in order to relocate to a new data center. Here's our planned schedule for tomorrow:

* 2:00pm Pacific Daylight Time (10:00pm UTC): Your subscriptions will stop updating with new items.
* 4:00pm PDT (12:00am UTC December 20th): The Bloglines site will be completely offline. During this time you will not be able to access your account.
* 8:00pm PDT (4:00am UTC December 20th): The Bloglines site will be back online by this time. New articles posted during the outage will appear in your account.

We look forward to vastly improved hardware capacity and tons of elbow room for growth. Thank you for your patience during this outage.

Update: The move is complete and it appears everything has gone well.

Posted in Main by usrbingeek at 2005-12-19 13:00 ET (GMT-5) | 0 Comments | Permalink



Comments










This web site is provided "as is" with no representations or warranties, and confer no rights. We are not liable for omissions or typographical errors contained in the content. Use at your sole risk.
The opinions expressed here do not necessarily represent any other entity or party we may have a connection or affiliation with.
usrbingeek, usr bin geek, usrbingeek.com, #!/usr/bin/geek are trademarks of usrbingeek LLC. All other trademarks and tradenames are property of their respective owners.